Titus Pullo experiment

I felt like trying something different today.
An illustration of actor Ray Stevenson as Titus Pullo in the TV series “Rome”

I did two different drawings and three different watercolors and layered them digitally. There is layering in both these versions even though it looks like the plainer one could have all been done traditionally on one sheet. I’m kind of excited about this process, but as far as this piece goes, I’m not sure which version I like better. The one with the background might be too much, but the one without it is kind of light for the expression of the character. What do you think?

3 thoughts on “Titus Pullo experiment

  1. I think that I’d like the bottom one best if the background colour were a bit lighter, and the edges less hard. As it is, I prefer the top one, though.

    • i like bottom one
      I really like the bottom one. The background colour allows the hi lights on the face to stand out much better and creates a lot more mood. Also the shapes around the face become a subtle/ supportive part of the composition rather than a distraction. Nice work,
      Shannon
      http://www.lemonzestdesign.com.au

    • i like bottom one
      I really like the bottom one. The background colour allows the high lights on the face to stand out much better and creates a lot more mood. Also the shapes around the face become a subtle/ supportive part of the composition rather than a distraction. Nice work,
      Shannon
      http://www.lemonzestdesign.com.au

Leave a Reply

