I’m painting a mural!

I’m painting a mural at the Irvine Nature Center in Owings Mills, MD where I recently had a solo show. It’s in one of their classrooms for children. It features insects and plants native to our region of Maryland, and demonstrates some of their life cycles and food chains.

I’ve only just started, but I thought I would share some of the process with you.

This is my sketch for the mural. The staff at the nature center gave me some feedback, and so the final will also have a centipede and some ants added to the right side near the bottom. The spider will be a lot smaller compared to its web, and there will also be a blue bottle fly trapped in the web.

(Click on the sketch to see it bigger)

Here are some photos of the actual wall, with some background colors laid in with environmentally friendly latex paints. The sketch for the mural is drawn in on top of the background colors, but it’s hard to see because it’s so light.

(Click on the thumbnails to see the photos)

And here is half a day’s worth of painting started using acrylics. This is mostly an underpainting, which will be refined and layered on top of now that I have the basics laid out. Most of it is very messy and chaotic looking, but the monarch caterpillar and the milkweed beetle are close to finished.

I plan to finish this project sometime in the next two weeks, so I’ll try to keep you updated with progress photos.

Do you need a mural in your home or business? Please contact me and we can discuss your options!

8 thoughts on “I’m painting a mural!

  1. Oh my goodness, Joanna, that is amazing! I love that you can work in little tiny watercolors format and translate your talent to huge wall murals. I can’t wait to see the finished product!

Leave a Reply

