Two new illustrative portraits

I finished these two a few days ago because I wanted to put together something brand new to submit to the Towson Arts Collective’s Illustration show.

I’m rather pleased with them. I feel like there’s a “next level” I’ve been reaching for in terms of what I want my work to look like, and this is a step in that direction.

(Click either image to blow it up more)

Oscar Wilde:

Charles Darwin:

Both pieces were inspired by classic (public domain) photos of the subjects.

PS: And, as always, prints are available. 8.5″ x 11″ for $10, 11″ x 17″ for $30 (plus shipping, discounts on multiples). Check out the “shop” section of http://www.joannabarnum.com for detailed information on ordering prints, or just drop me an e-mail at joanna at joannabarnum dot com.

13 thoughts on “Two new illustrative portraits

  1. These are breathtaking, hon. Just breathtaking. I cannot wait to see what you continue to do in this fashion.
    I do believe I may have to purchase one of the Darwin prints.

    • Re: I LOVE THEM!!!
      I’ve gotten a few good suggestions, and I’m pretty sure I want to keep going on this as a series, so I may get around to doing a Byron.
      Thanks! 🙂

      • Re: I LOVE THEM!!!
        Since there were no photographs until the middle of the nineteenth century, we only know what a lot of these people look like through paintings … I imagine it would be very challenging for you to draw their faces without them looking like any previously painted portraits. I can’t wait to see what you come up with!

Leave a Reply

