My friend Elise is opening a new gallery in Baltimore, Positron Gallery, and has asked me to contribute to the upcoming show “Live Wire.”

This is the description of the theme: “Live wires are dangerous and instill fear in most people, but are essential to power our lives and give the potential to make great things happen. This show will reflect how inspiration and beauty can come from fear and danger.”

There are lots of ways that can be interpreted, and I’ve been doing a lot of thinking about what I want to make work about for the show. The focus of the gallery is on mixed media work, so I’m excited about HOW I’ll make the work, but I’m having more trouble nailing down a concept. Maybe this is because I haven’t personally experienced much fear and danger in my life, at least, not the literal kind that jumps to mind most easily. Of course, growing as a person is about stepping out of one’s comfort zone over and over again, and that is quite scary.

But I’m not sure I want to make work about myself. I’m really excited about the run of historical portraits I’ve started on. I wonder if I could do something with that?

Maybe I could continue the series (pushing the mixed media element even farther), focusing specifically on individuals whose best work has come out of enduring fear, danger, or personal struggle. I have quite a bit of my own reading and brainstorming to do in order to decide who I’d like to focus on, but I thought I’d ask if those of you reading have any suggestions. They could be artists, writers, philosophers, scientists, activists, historical or contemporary.

I don’t have a lot of time to get the work done (the deadline to have it framed and ready to go is July 15th!), but now that I have a better idea of what I’m doing, I’m kind of enjoying the pressure.

Oh, and incidentally, the Charles Darwin portrait from the previous post was accepted into the Towson Arts Collective Illustration exhibition. The exhibition will run from September 3 through October 23, and the reception will be on Friday, September 11th, from 5:30-7:30 pm.

Yes, I’ll remind you when it gets closer.

And I’ll post the information about the Live Wire opening when I have it.

7 thoughts on “

    • Re: OT
      You’re welcome! I have too many paperbacks that I have no room to keep, from when we were living in Glen Burnie and the nearby used bookstore had a better selection than the closest library. I’ve been trying to pass them along.

  1. what an exciting idea!
    I would suggest emma goldman. you just couldn’t keep that girl down πŸ™‚
    maybe experiment with adding some aspect of simple rawness to the image? vibrant colours, bold strokes, something spontaneous? unless that’s just too far off from you work.

  2. I haven’t hit the second link yet (just for me? Aww! :P) because I’m listening to the “New sounds” thing. I love that they’re playing different versions back to back, for comparison. I’m listening to each.
    It is, without a doubt, a lovely song.

Leave a Reply

