Darwin T-shirt questions

I have no prizes for you this time, but I have a couple of questions for anyone who feels like answering:

-What would you consider to be a reasonable price for a screen printed t-shirt that you are purchasing from an artist/small business? Would you pay more for something like this than you would for a printed t-shirt from a chain store?

-Does the brand of t-shirt the design is printed on matter to you? Would you pay more for a certain brand? (Say, American Apparel vs. Hanes)

11 thoughts on “Darwin T-shirt questions

  1. I preface this by saying that I am BROKE-ASS-BROKE, and am entirely confined to making clothes myself for the foreseeable future if I want anything new, since I lack even the funds to go thrifting at the moment, so I am decidedly not your current target audience. However, in the past I have had money, and bought things, albeit only occasionally, so.
    I am definitely willing to pay more for something unique and cool from an individual artist than I would otherwise, though I don’t know how much shirts go for at malls these days. The last printed tank top I bought from a friend of a friend cost much more than I would have been willing to pay for a top at a store, but it was also way way cooler than anything I would have found there. So for me, a $10 or even $15 premium for Awesome is not a problem. It may be easier to afford if it’s cheaper, but in such cases I actually feel a little guilty about not paying the artist extra, because I know perfectly well that making things costs more for individuals than major corporations, and I feel that people ought to be compensated for their time and creativity.
    I wouldn’t think anything at all of brands. A t-shirt is a t-shirt.
    I will say that I don’t buy shirts that aren’t available in babydoll, but that’s due more to my own shape than anything else. Men’s t-shirts hang most unflatteringly on me. I don’t know whether I speak for much of the rest of the world there, but offering a girly-t version, if cost-effective, seems to me to be a good idea. Many places seem to do so, and I imagine they have a reason.

    • Thanks!
      I haven’t totally settled yet on what styles I’ll be getting the first time around. I’d like to do girly-cut shirts as well as the generic unisex style but I might have to wait and see if I’m at all successful first, since they seem to be more expensive per shirt and I don’t have a lot of money to invest up front.

  2. I boycott AA because the owner is a sexist dick who harasses his employees and fires them if they aren’t “hot” enough. I would be far less likely to buy a shirt if it was AA.
    I would pay $20-25 for a tee.

      • Not off-hand, no, but I can ask. I’ve never had to have something printed, myself, I’ve just bought from vendors who do and market their stuff has having been from union shops. I could likely ask someone at the Shoe or Red Emma’s where they get their shirts from, though.

      • I don’t mean to send you on a goosechase to do my research for me, just thought you might know. Generally the brands that screen printing companies offer are big ones like Hanes, Gilden, Fruit of the Loom, sometimes American Apparel. Now that I think of it, though, I’m almost sure anything from Red Emma’s was probably actually printed by the artist themselves. That’d open up a lot more options in terms of what base t-shirt to use.
        I wish I could do that, because it would be way cheaper, but seeing as I’m not going into business making lots and lots of different t-shirts, I’m not really interested in investing in all the equipment necessary.

  3. I bought this shirt from the artist on his website. American Apparel was having trouble supplying him with the t-shirts so I have a Bella baby doll t-shirt with the Hello Kitty holding a bazooka. It is a nice quality t-shirt that has worn well, and I have had it since early 2007.
    I agree with whoever had ethical issues with American Apparel.

Leave a Reply

