Saying goodbye.

As I was standing in the art supply store last week picking up some other necessities, I decided it was time to bite the bullet and replace my 5+ year old watercolor palette.

The old one was a small disposable student grade tray I bought my sophomore year at MICA, when I first began painting with tube watercolors. It only has one large mixing area that I need to continuously wipe down as I work, and the rest of the tray has become incredibly filthy.

I am definitely a creature of habit. When I develop a routine for something, I don’t like to change it, even if I’m making things unnecessarily difficult for myself. Behold:

Here is the new larger, sturdier palette:

I fished the old one out of the trash to show it to you, but then it occurred to me that I should save it for painting in the field, since it is small and has a lid. Then I promised myself I would only save it until I make it back to the store to buy a new clean $5 student palette for field work.

Leave a Reply

