Orc(k?)s

Last night I was really frustrated at a piece I was working on, so my husband asked if we could draw together. He wanted to draw some monsters and have me re-draw his designs.

My husband “doesn’t draw” and is generally only interested interested in visual art as a viewer. I actually really like drawings by people who don’t normally pick up a pencil, and/or who haven’t had any formal artistic training. I like the big symmetrical faces Mike draws on the rare occasion that he doodles something. I think he should make a series of them in color, although I don’t think he’s particularly inclined to do so.

By the time we got to the second character I realized he was actually stealing characters from video games. He promised that next time (tonight, maybe) he’ll draw some original monsters. I’m not a gamer, so I only have a very vague idea of what these characters look like in the game, so I kind of like that we played telephone with character design.

Mike’s drawings:
(The laughing goblin scares the crap out of me)

My drawings:
(My favorite part is the ork’s bat tattoo)

4 thoughts on “Orc(k?)s

  1. You know what, I actually like the oversized jaw on his better for the figure on the right. The jaw is supposed to be oversized, I think :). I love this in general however :).

Leave a Reply

