Attn. Writers

A while ago I started tossing around the idea of putting together a non-contiguous “web comic” that illustrates short stories, prose, poems, random quips, etc. from friends and colleagues. Any sort of writing, fiction or non fiction, that isn’t too long. I suppose it could even be an excerpt from something longer that stands well alone.

Although I need to start another project right now like I need a hole in the head, I’d love to start gathering some material to chew on. The actual ETA of any work online probably wouldn’t be until early next year. I’ll probably end up using either a blog provider other than LJ to present it, or will set it up on its own website.

If you send me something to use, you’ll be granting me non-exclusive online publication rights only, and you’ll be credited/linked back however you like. I would own the copyright to the associated artwork, but authors would be free to re-publish it online on their own sites/blogs. I may need to re-format your writing to suit the graphic format, but I will not edit the content in any way. If it needs to be abridged to work for my purposes, I will only do so with your permission and guidance.

For now, the project would be entirely non-commercial aside from any promotional purpose it ends up serving for me and the writers. If someone wanted to publish any of the content, or I decided I wanted to self-publish something printed down the line, I’d work that out with the writers at that point.

I also can’t promise I’ll end up using everything that is sent to me, or that it will be used in the order I receive it.

If you’d like to participate, send me some writing at joanna at joannabarnum dot com.

Also open to questions, comments, suggestions here.

5 thoughts on “Attn. Writers

Leave a Reply

