Michelle Rodriguez as Luz in Machete

I finished this a while ago, and was holding off posting it until I finished a similar illustration of Danny Trejo, but I haven’t gotten around to it yet, so I figured I may as well get this scanned.

I used the gypsy skull girl tattoo design on the side of Luz’s taco truck in the movie as inspiration for the portrait. I think this may be what started my recent calavera obsession.

Done in watercolor, pen & ink, and a bit of gouache.

Prints available, as usual.


(Click for full size image)

5 thoughts on “Michelle Rodriguez as Luz in Machete

  1. This is beautiful.
    Earlier you mentioned a not very helpful letter from a graduate program at MICA, and I thought about graduate programs and how they ask you to play with weird theoretical concepts even if the final result is not a finished, marketable product because you are supposed to learn something from the process.
    This came to mind when I thought about looking at my sister’s architecture portfolio. The things I liked were things that she had done with computers as an undergrad and not the things that she had worked very hard on in graduate school. This annoyed her, but I liked the earlier works because they looked like finished products; and I clearly did not appreciate all the work and concepts that had gone on in her later projects.
    I was wondering if as a drawing exercise you could do a pen and pencil version of this face and age it. Make a version that is 10 years younger and a version that is 10 years older for numerous decades. Or you could take her and change her emotion. She seems attractive here because her emotion is somewhat mysterious and inscrutable.

    • That’s an interesting idea.
      Also, I’m totally not against experimentation, and I’d hope to do a lot of it in grad school if I go… I used to do a lot more of it and need to go back to playing more. It just seemed odd that that’s what they seemed to want as a grad application portfolio, when I’ve been taught (by the same school!) to think of a portfolio professionally, as something polished and cohesive. That, and the general terseness made it hard to understand what they really meant.

Leave a Reply

