Artscape 1982

Artscape is Baltimore’s huge annual arts festival. For the past few years, the Charles St. bridge area has become a specialized “environment” with installation art. This year, the theme is 1982, since that’s the year of Artscape’s founding. There are a number of different areas in which artists can submit proposals for the area. One in particular is a large bank of windows on Penn Station, open to proposals for a series of 8.5″ x 11″ art works to be displayed in the individual window panes.

I just turned in my proposal, so I have no idea if I’ll get the spot, but I was excited to share the drawings I put together for it. My concept is to fill the windows with portraits of pop culture and political figures from the 80’s- both national and international, but also some of particular relevance to Maryland. They are bold, expressive brush and ink portraits.

I haven’t done something like this before, and I couldn’t quite figure out which windows were actually being referred to in the prospectus, so for all I know, my particular proposal won’t work because the windows will be seen from much too far away, but I guess I’ll let the curator figure that out. I’m really pleased with how the sample drawings came out so I’m glad I did them in any case.

I played with adding hits of neon color to the black and white portraits to bump up the 80’s, but I don’t know that I like it better than the plain black and white portraits. I included both options in my proposal.

You can see the labels for the portraits when you click on the thumbnails to enlarge them, but I won’t tag them here in case you want to guess who everyone is.

One thought on “Artscape 1982

Leave a Reply

