C.W. Peale

“Charles Willson Peale (April 15, 1741 – February 22, 1827) was an American painter, soldier and naturalist. He is best remembered for his portrait paintings of leading figures of the American Revolution, as well as establishing one of [America’s] first museums.”

“Peale had a great interest in natural history, and organized the first U.S. scientific expedition in 1801. These two major interests combined in his founding of what became the Philadelphia Museum, and was later renamed the Peale Museum….

It housed a diverse collection of botanical, biological, and archaeological specimens. Most notably, the museum contained a large variety of birds which Peale himself acquired, and it was the first to display North American mastodon bones…Peale’s display of these bones drew attention from Europe, as did his method of re-assembling large skeletal specimens in three dimensions.”

(from Wikipedia)

(Click to enlarge)

Part of my ongoing series of biologists, naturalists, and environmentalists which will be on display at Irvine Nature Center (www.explorenature.org) in Owings Mills, MD from May 18-July 30, 2011.

The opening for the three artist show, entitled “Delicate Visions: Rebecca Clark, Joanna Barnum and Elaine Brandes,” will take place on Friday, June 3, 5-7pm.

Prints available of any of the images in this series, for the usual prices- joanna at joannabarnum dot com
4″ x 6″- $5, or 4/$17
8.5″ x 11″- $10, or 4/$35
11″ x 17″- $30, or 4/$100
13″ x 19″- $40, or 4/$140

29 thoughts on “C.W. Peale

    • Yeah, that was not my decision at all. I don’t really consider my work “delicate” at all, especially not this series. I don’t think it was a conscious choice to make it gendered, maybe more to do with a non-artist’s associations with particular media. Rebecca does tightly rendered graphite drawings, Elaine does quilts, and I do watercolor. I can see how a non-artist or someone not intimately familiar with the nuances of those media might make that association/generalization.

    • Yeah, that was not my decision at all. I don’t really consider my work “delicate” at all, especially not this series. I don’t think it was a conscious choice to make it gendered, maybe more to do with a non-artist’s associations with particular media. Rebecca does tightly rendered graphite drawings, Elaine does quilts, and I do watercolor. I can see how a non-artist or someone not intimately familiar with the nuances of those media might make that association/generalization.

    • Yeah, that was not my decision at all. I don’t really consider my work “delicate” at all, especially not this series. I don’t think it was a conscious choice to make it gendered, maybe more to do with a non-artist’s associations with particular media. Rebecca does tightly rendered graphite drawings, Elaine does quilts, and I do watercolor. I can see how a non-artist or someone not intimately familiar with the nuances of those media might make that association/generalization.

    • Yeah, that was not my decision at all. I don’t really consider my work “delicate” at all, especially not this series. I don’t think it was a conscious choice to make it gendered, maybe more to do with a non-artist’s associations with particular media. Rebecca does tightly rendered graphite drawings, Elaine does quilts, and I do watercolor. I can see how a non-artist or someone not intimately familiar with the nuances of those media might make that association/generalization.

    • Yeah, that was not my decision at all. I don’t really consider my work “delicate” at all, especially not this series. I don’t think it was a conscious choice to make it gendered, maybe more to do with a non-artist’s associations with particular media. Rebecca does tightly rendered graphite drawings, Elaine does quilts, and I do watercolor. I can see how a non-artist or someone not intimately familiar with the nuances of those media might make that association/generalization.

    • Yeah, that was not my decision at all. I don’t really consider my work “delicate” at all, especially not this series. I don’t think it was a conscious choice to make it gendered, maybe more to do with a non-artist’s associations with particular media. Rebecca does tightly rendered graphite drawings, Elaine does quilts, and I do watercolor. I can see how a non-artist or someone not intimately familiar with the nuances of those media might make that association/generalization.

    • Yeah, that was not my decision at all. I don’t really consider my work “delicate” at all, especially not this series. I don’t think it was a conscious choice to make it gendered, maybe more to do with a non-artist’s associations with particular media. Rebecca does tightly rendered graphite drawings, Elaine does quilts, and I do watercolor. I can see how a non-artist or someone not intimately familiar with the nuances of those media might make that association/generalization.

    • Yeah, that was not my decision at all. I don’t really consider my work “delicate” at all, especially not this series. I don’t think it was a conscious choice to make it gendered, maybe more to do with a non-artist’s associations with particular media. Rebecca does tightly rendered graphite drawings, Elaine does quilts, and I do watercolor. I can see how a non-artist or someone not intimately familiar with the nuances of those media might make that association/generalization.

    • Yeah, that was not my decision at all. I don’t really consider my work “delicate” at all, especially not this series. I don’t think it was a conscious choice to make it gendered, maybe more to do with a non-artist’s associations with particular media. Rebecca does tightly rendered graphite drawings, Elaine does quilts, and I do watercolor. I can see how a non-artist or someone not intimately familiar with the nuances of those media might make that association/generalization.

    • Yeah, that was not my decision at all. I don’t really consider my work “delicate” at all, especially not this series. I don’t think it was a conscious choice to make it gendered, maybe more to do with a non-artist’s associations with particular media. Rebecca does tightly rendered graphite drawings, Elaine does quilts, and I do watercolor. I can see how a non-artist or someone not intimately familiar with the nuances of those media might make that association/generalization.

    • Yeah, that was not my decision at all. I don’t really consider my work “delicate” at all, especially not this series. I don’t think it was a conscious choice to make it gendered, maybe more to do with a non-artist’s associations with particular media. Rebecca does tightly rendered graphite drawings, Elaine does quilts, and I do watercolor. I can see how a non-artist or someone not intimately familiar with the nuances of those media might make that association/generalization.

    • Yeah, that was not my decision at all. I don’t really consider my work “delicate” at all, especially not this series. I don’t think it was a conscious choice to make it gendered, maybe more to do with a non-artist’s associations with particular media. Rebecca does tightly rendered graphite drawings, Elaine does quilts, and I do watercolor. I can see how a non-artist or someone not intimately familiar with the nuances of those media might make that association/generalization.

    • Yeah, that was not my decision at all. I don’t really consider my work “delicate” at all, especially not this series. I don’t think it was a conscious choice to make it gendered, maybe more to do with a non-artist’s associations with particular media. Rebecca does tightly rendered graphite drawings, Elaine does quilts, and I do watercolor. I can see how a non-artist or someone not intimately familiar with the nuances of those media might make that association/generalization.

    • Yeah, that was not my decision at all. I don’t really consider my work “delicate” at all, especially not this series. I don’t think it was a conscious choice to make it gendered, maybe more to do with a non-artist’s associations with particular media. Rebecca does tightly rendered graphite drawings, Elaine does quilts, and I do watercolor. I can see how a non-artist or someone not intimately familiar with the nuances of those media might make that association/generalization.

    • Yeah, that was not my decision at all. I don’t really consider my work “delicate” at all, especially not this series. I don’t think it was a conscious choice to make it gendered, maybe more to do with a non-artist’s associations with particular media. Rebecca does tightly rendered graphite drawings, Elaine does quilts, and I do watercolor. I can see how a non-artist or someone not intimately familiar with the nuances of those media might make that association/generalization.

Leave a Reply

