Distorted Disney

I just sent off two pieces for this show organized by fellow Girls Drawin’ Girls member Veronica Lynn Harper:

We were asked to satirize Disney classics. At first I had trouble thinking of a way to put a dark twist on a Disney story without simply reverting to the original fairy tales, which were often quite macabre, but then I decided to imagine what might have happened to Sleeping Beauty and Snow White if their princes had never shown up to awaken them.

This media is a little different for me, too. Since I needed to ship the work to Veronica, who also needed to take the work on a flight with her, I decided to skip frames with glass altogether, and paint on small wooden plaques with ink and acrylic. Some of the other GDG gals do this a lot so I thought I’d give it a shot. I like how substantial it made the original pieces.

(Click to enlarge)

One thought on “Distorted Disney

Leave a Reply

