An Evening With David Sedaris

One of my holiday presents from my husband Mike was tickets to a David Sedaris reading at the Meyerhoff here in Baltimore. The show was last week, and we arrived early enough to get on line for the signing.

I gave Mr. Sedaris a copy of this illustration I did of him about his recent book Squirrel Seeks Chipmunk, which is a series of animal fables. He seemed very pleased with it, and told me he thought I made his hair look a lot better than the artist who had done the illustration for his recent New York Times book review feature. In exchange, he gave me a tiny notebook with kittens on it which he bought in Japan. He also insisted that I’m a Gemini, which I’m not. I’m also pretty sure he wrote “Your story has touched my heart” in everyone’s book, because that’s just his sense of humor.

The reading was great!

Leave a Reply

